One thing a lot of covers have in common is colour and imagery as such I knew that was the ideal place to start with my cover. I went through many images in order to find the right one both looking online and taking my own. At first I tried to take images of people in sports kit while holding some of the food from the recipe books that I had created however I found but the lighting and the background made it hard for these images to be edited in a way that still looked appealing. I tried to edit different images to give up when I realised that it would be difficult to get a good quality image of what I originally wanted however this too failed. due to this I was forced to look online for images that could make logical sense on the cover. I first looked through food images and whilst this conveyed the message of this being a cookbook it missed out on the idea of it being a cookbook for weight loss and an aide for fitness diets. As such I want on to look for fitness images that could later be edited. I eventually found an image of a yoga mat, a woman sitting cross legged, a smoothie and weights, I thought this could be a great starting point to edit an image to fit my cover idea. However, when I placed an image of food within this image it did not look correct due to the different lightings and colours within the images as such I decided to only go with the original image for the cover.

 

It was important for me that after picking the image everything was cohesive, as such all the colours chosen for the cover what individually picked up using the colour picker tool from the cover image. due to this process, there was a limited number of colours I could pick it instead became more important to choose the right shades. I immediately picked up on the grey blue and pink scheme within the photo as such this became the colours used on the cover and within the book. when playing around with the colours I found that the lighter blue worked best rather than the light pink and using both light blue light grey and light pink did not work well on the cover as such a dark pink was chosen. Finally, when picking the fonts to use I based my choices around fonts that other recipe books had used and would work well within the cover. Before submitting my cover I made sure it was appealing to audiences so I got the opinions of multiple people including University students and middle aged working adults to see if the cover was successful with its purpose.